Why I love Skyrim

WHAT’S THIS? A post not about Nicaragua? Well, yeah. I started this blog to write about my life and its creative adventures, both literal and internal. So this is a post about my creative mind adventures!!

Ok, so… if you know me at all, you know that I have a borderline obsession with The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim.

“Why?” Some of you may ask. “How can you see so much merit in a video game?”

Well…Here is a short list of why I love Skyrim so much. I apologize heavily if I throw too much jargon in here; I will really try to keep it simple. 

1. It has something for almost everyone

Skyrim is a huge game. Additionally, not all  of the quests need to be completed in order to “beat” the game. So if you like action, you can choose to fight your way through ogres and trolls and dragons. If you like being sneaky, you can work your way through the thieves guild and become a shadow in the night. If you enjoy history and mythology, you can follow the quests in which you search for books or legends or other fun things. If you are meticulous (like me) and want to do anything possible, there are endless possibilities for you to explore. Basically, if you like playing video games, you can find something for you. 

2. It is heavily based in Viking lore and culture.

I just got a degree in history. Therefore it is safe to say that I have a passion for history. So the fact that Skyrim has many people, quests, locations, and even monsters named after or based on creatures, locations, and stories from medieval Iceland and Norway is freaking awesome. Dragons are obviously creatures that have been present in varied lores and cultures, but the comparisons and parallels go much deeper. Draugr, a living skeleton found in Nordic ruins in Skyrim, are present in at least 7 Icelandic sagas. The descriptions of their appearance and abilities are found in these sagas, and the in-game monsters seem to match the Icelandic tellings almost exactly. Not to mention the entire cosmology (creation and organization of the universe) is ridiculously similar to the Viking ideas of Yggdrasil, the tree that connects Asgard (land of the Gods), Midgard (land of Men), and Hel (underworld). I would love to go on about the deets, but I’m trying to make this short. 

3. The musical score.

The musical score, composed by Jeremy Soule, is fantastic. Created entirely by computers, the score sounds as if it were performed by full orchestras. The music compliments the scenery of lush grasslands, stoic mountainscapes, and large rivers. Additionally, the music is easily recognizable. As soon as the player hears the (synthesized) strings begin their staccato notes, one knows danger is afoot! Likewise, when the heart-racing music subsides, the player knows he or she is clear to sheathe his or her weapons or fast travel (a perk you can’t use if there are “enemies nearby”).

4. It’s freaking beautiful.

I’m getting less erudite as I keep writing. I could fangirl over Skyrim forever. Trying to condense my love into a list is proving harder than expected. But anyway, the design itself is beautiful. Just looking at the game, one can see how the landscape, architecture, and everything in-between is artistic and well done. Beyond that, though, the depth of difference between places is astonishing. Skyrim (the region/continent thing) is divided into nine holds. Each hold has a different economic status and type of architecture. Meaning each hold was designed to represent its people. One hold is poor and cramped and if we had smell-o-vision would probably reek. Another hold is huge and ornate and full of colors and characters. Each area of the game is unique. No repeating landscapes like in Morrowind. You can explore the landscape to find caves, ruins, and forts. And they all look different. That’s awesome! That’s beautiful.

5. It is endless.

Literally. There are never-ending quests and the game itself is so freaking huge that if you actually did find everything there is to find, I’m worried about the life you don’t have. How cool is that? A game in which you can always find something new or something further to do. How is that for a cure for boredom? 

Basically, I just love the game. And nothing anyone says will sway me otherwise. Spending 9 months writing a 50 page paper on the game didn’t make me like it any less, so nothing else will, either. I also know I’m not about to change anyone else’s mind about the game. I just wanted to write a little bit about why I talk about the game so much. If you have any questions, feel free to comment below!

Thanks for reading! 

Leave a Reply

