Stuck

Hey folks,

Listen, if you’ve been following me for a while, you know I’ve done some cool things in my life since starting this blog. I’ve found interesting things to do. And that’s awesome fodder for blogging- writing about awesome life things that are just happening around me.

I don’t know who said it to me, so I apologize for not being able to correctly attribute this quote, but about a week before I came back from Nicaragua, someone said “life is going to suck for a while compared to what you’ve been doing.”

I didn’t think much about that before coming home. Surely Cleveland would not be as beautiful as Jinotega. I also wouldn’t be surrounded by 48 beautiful souls that did nothing but learn and grow and be awesome. I knew those things. But those facts, even combined with the above advice, did not prepare me for just how boring I am when I’m not doing anything interesting.

I have been trying really hard to keep myself productive. I’m still looking for future travel opportunities, I’m thinking about saving up to take the GRE so grad school can become a possibility. But I’m stuck. Both physically and mentally I am stuck. For the first time in a long time. In college, I always had something to do and taking time off of anything was really satisfying. I was surrounded by like-minded people who were learning so much and we were sharing so much life and experience and knowledge with one-another. Then this summer I was surrounded by people doing what I was doing and loving every second of it.

I guess it is just so strange now to have to live in the “real world” and learn how to be a “grown up.” I have to start making loan payments soon. I make less money than I did in school. I feel like I’ve gone back ten steps when I’m supposed to be going forward. I am so stuck that I’m trying to think of where I can go to next, which just leads me to again realizing that for once I don’t have any other options and I have to stick to my current path. I am so grateful for My Sister & Co. for putting me up and helping me out but man, the guilt that racks up after posing such an inconvenience for so long. I know I need to be thinking more positively, but I can’t get over my culture shock from college student to graduate just yet.

So basically, this is me telling you all how lost I am. I need help! Or friends in Cleveland!

Recent college grads: How have you assimilated into the “real world?”
Anyone: How do you keep life positive even if you don’t like what’s going on?

One comment

  1. Look dude. You are not imposing. You are really helping around the house and making my life easier. I am digging having you here. I am not joking when I say you’re not allowed to leave. I am joking a little bit. But I really do appreciate and like having you here.

Leave a Reply

