Week One: Plantai-kin’ it Easy

Hey folks!

Okay, so I made plantains in four different ways this week!

Way one: Mashed plantains!

SO GOOD. They were a little bit sweet, a little bit savory. It’s certainly a new taste, but it was awesome in addition to roasted chicken and veggies. I don’t know how much of the recipe you want, so for now I’ll just say that I boiled partially ripe plantains in water with garlic and onions, then simmered with milk and spices, and then mashed ’em all up when they were soft. Sister was iffy, sister’s boyfriend liked them!

(Here is where a picture would go if WordPress wasn’t having problems uploading pictures. Imagine there are pictures for all of these! I will try to get them up soon)

Way two: Dessert plantains!

Pretty awesome. I was craving something sweet, so I took my plantain with the most black and least yellow (AKA most ripe) and sliced it thinly on a mandolin. Then I fried the slices in coconut oil, sprinkled them with cinnamon, and served with some chocolate sauce. They weren’t incredibly sweet (I’m trying to limit my sugar intake) but they were tasty and I can imagine dusted with powdered sugar they’d be pure heaven. My friend Kelci liked them! At least I think she did…

Way three: Curry-spiced plantains!

These were a tasty lunchtime snack! I sliced two relatively un-ripe plantains thinly lengthwise and sauteed them in coconut oil with some onions. I then added some fresh garlic and curry powder. They got super soft on the inside but had a nice caramelized , crunchy outside and the curry flavor goes better with plantains than I expected.

Way four: Roasted plantains with cheese.

For this super easy recipe I took an unripe plantain, sliced it down the middle about a 1/4 inch deep (with the peel still on) and stuck it  in the oven for about thirty minutes. I then ripped the peel off ( I would say “took,” but it definitely made a ripping sound) and put some of my fancy applewood smoked cheddar I got from West Side Market and put it in to broil for a few minutes. Oh. My. Goodness. Without any spices, this was one of the most flavorful things I’ve eaten in a long time. The plantain got all soft and sweet, with a little bit of a sweet potato sweet/savory flavor, and the cheese was SO GOOD in it. Wow. I will definitely make this again.

There you have it, folks! Four different ways to eat plantains! I still have about half of my supply left, so I’m open to suggestions! I am really enjoying finding ways to make them a savory side dish, because my sister can’t eat potatoes without getting sick (Google “nightshade intolerance” if you’re really interested). Using plantains, I can hopefully show her (or just make her) plantains acting like potatoes! Maybe this week I will try a “french fry” type plantain. The possibilities are endless!

Let me know if you’d like me to post any of my recipes on here!

See ya later, alligators!

4 comments

  1. Wow…some great ideas in her cuz!!! Ash and I love plantains. I can check with my coworker (she is from Puerto Rico) for some recipes.

  2. Any other ways you prepared your plantains? I recently bought a dozen an I’m trying to think outside the box.

    1. If you have really green ones you can slice them really thin and fry or bake them for chips.

      You can boil and mash them like potatoes.

      Think of the greenish/early yellow ones like potatoes.

      Think of the really black/brown/dark yellow ones like bananas.

Leave a Reply

