How Could I Forget? A Tribute to Two More Men I Trust

This post will not be included in my 100 days of posting because it is an addition to my post yesterday, The Men I Trust, about the men in my life that make me feel safe even though I have had multiple experiences in my life during which men did nothing honorable or trustworthy.

I have two very important additions to my list of incredible men.

My stepdad- you may not have married my mom (…yet?) but you are a stepdad in all respects. You have made sure that C and I are cared for and secure. You share your love with not only our mother but us as well. You are kind, caring, and incredibly charismatic. Thank you for always being there for my mom and thank you for always being there for me.

My freshman RA- BK! You are so integral to who I am today. I am so glad that I was on your floor- one of community and love. You fostered a true family my freshman year and we all owe our lasting friendships to you and your amazing leadership and kindness. You have been my RA, my manager, and my housemate at different times in my life but you have always been my friend and we have always been equals and for that I am grateful. Your poems, YouTube video apologies, and personality are by far some of the kindest and most genuine things I’ve ever experienced in my life. I’ve made jokes about it, but I really do consider what you might say or do in almost all of my life decisions. Thank you for always being supportive of me and always being my friend, even when we’re separated by an ocean.

I’m only kind of sorry if you’re sick of reading about awesome people in my life. I don’t know if I’ll ever do a shout-out post like this again, but it certainly felt good to say some things that I don’t say as often as I probably should. Whenever I start to feel anxious or panicky or even get flashbacks to my traumatic experiences, it is people like the ones I’ve listed that help keep me grounded, even if they aren’t there. The men I have discussed in the last two posts have left such an impression on me that just knowing that there are such genuine, kind, trustworthy people I could reach out to is comfort enough.

So, thank you, again, to all of the men in my life that make my traumatic experiences exceptions to the rule.

Leave a Reply

