Poetry Attempt #1, There Will Probably Never Be More

Guys, don’t even read this. There, it’s your warning. I can’t write poetry, am no poet, and will never claim to be. Turn away.

You’re still reading? Great. Well, it’s on the internet so I guess I can’t stop you. According to someone wise, “the best things on the internet are terrible.” I guess in an effort to increase my creativity I should be exploring creative opportunities outside my creative comfort zone. So there’s some positivity there.

I told The Writer that I didn’t know what to write about tonight and he said “butterflies,” soooo I wrote a poem. Gosh, I’d be embarrassed if he read this drivel. Here goes,

Ding-ding

The butterflies are waking

Ding-ding

You’re making them do

their dance

in the corners

of my heart

Ding-ding

So cliché but so true

Is that you?

Ding-ding

The familiar sound of

A new message

The tiniest letter

saying hello

Ding-ding

Can’t you feel the butterflies, too?

Leave a Reply

