Marilyn Manson Drops Some Wisdom

Short post today! 16/100

I recently read a New York Times article about one of my all-time favorite people in the world, Marilyn Manson. I haven’t been borderline obsessed with him since I was ten because of his music. I enjoy it but that’s not the real reason- the actual reason I am such a fan is because he is so honestly human. He is honest with the world about his issues and his self and he embraces his flaws. I really appreciate that- his self awareness as a combination celebrity and human.

The article ends with this incredible quote from Manson:

“There’s a difference between a man who has everything to gain and a man who has nothing to lose. If you have nothing to lose, you’re dangerous in a bad way. If you have everything to gain, you’re dangerous in a good way.”

I love this quote. I think there’s a lot to it. I don’t think I really need to explain why I like it so much- I just identify with it. I’ve been in both situations. I was a woman with nothing to lose for a while and I was in an incredibly dark place. Now I feel as if the world is before me and I get to choose my path entirely- I get to gain everything in my own time and in my own way. I don’t know if that makes me feel dangerous or not, but hell, I might be.

Leave a Reply

