“You’re Too Happy.”

A girl at work (I won’t say which work) told me recently that I am too happy. Too. Happy. What? Now, she’s sort of a stoic, snarky girl who seems to pride herself on being annoyingly cynical- and whatever, good for her. But seriously, how could she say that?

I am just the right amount of gosh-darned (censored that a bit for y’all) happy that I need to be. I have experienced incredible pain in my life. I have lived through several violent assaults. I have been abused. I have been ridiculed for my physical traits. I have had some really shitty stuff happen to me. And I am still happy.

I have every right to be happy as she does to be a cynical asshat.

It’s very true- I’m an incredibly cheerful person, and I understand that it might get to be a little much for people forced to interact with me for extended periods of time. I try as hard as possible to brighten the days of the people around me because I believe that kindness is key and there isn’t enough of it in the world. I smile at everyone I see and I always say “please” and “thank you.”

I am happy because I choose every day to be happy.

I don’t understand the concept of “too happy.” I am just the right amount of happy for me. She’s apparently just the right amount of unhappy for her, and I don’t comment on that fact. So why does she need to complain about my cheer?

Never let anyone tell you that you’re too happy, or too sad for that matter. Or too excited, abashed, kind, or angry. Let yourself be unashamed of your emotions. To be fair, there’s definitely a threshold for anger-levels (don’t be punching strangers or screaming at managers, ya know?) and similar emotions but for the most part you should embrace your emotions. Or at least accept them. And don’t let anyone freaking tell you that you’re too much of anything- because that’s bullshit. They’re telling you that you’re being too you. That makes no sense.

I’m sure there are a million counter arguments to my stance on this. Some are fully logical and I’d probably even believe them, but right now I’m sorta salty that this lady told me I was too happy and I’m letting that irritation push this post. My “BeMused Thoughts”  category is basically my journal, anyway, and that’s what you’re supposed to do in journals, right? Write down snapshots of your feelings? Maybe not. I could be doing this entirely wrong. F*ck it.

But anyway- back to my point. Don’t let someone tell you that you’re showing too much of your personality or character, because being honest with yourself and your emotions is healthy and awesome to do. /end rant.

Until tomorrow, folks!

Leave a Reply

